Student News

May 14, 2016. Josh Adamson's paper "Twitter Privacy: Determinants of Sharing Behavior on Twitter," has won a top paper award (silver) in the Undergraduate Scholars Research Conference at the Western States Communication Association Conference.

May 14, 2016. Three M.A. students have had papers accepted to the Hawaii University Education and STEAM Conference: Hadia Bendelhoum ("Neither Black Nor White: Biracial African American Women in Media"), Janet Castro ("Too Far to Love? Maintaining Relationships Through Digital Communication"), and Richard Contreras ("The Effects of Incarceration and Communication on Ex-Offenders").

Jan. 14, 2016. Josh Adamson's paper "Twitter Privacy: Determinants of Sharing Behavior on Twitter," has been competitively selected for presentation at the Western States Communication Association's Undergraduate Scholars Research Conference.

Nov. 22, 2015. The California State Assembly recognized the achievement Communication Studies Department's chapter of the Public Relations Students' Society of America.

Nov. 22, 2015. Alumnus Anthony Donatelli '15 works on-air for the CBS Inland Empire radio station KFROG.

Oct. 31, 2015. Amanda Fernandez won "Best Student Media Representative" at the 2015 Inland Empire Media Awards. She was honored for her relentless work as  student operations manager at Coyote Radio, supervisor and mentor to students working in that department, and public relations assistant to the Grammy winning Avila family. For more on Amanda, see this news story./ 

Sept 21, 2015. Amanda Fernandez, Kevyn Ruiz, and Mathew Ornelas have been nominated for Best Student Media Representative in the 2015 Inland Empire Media Awards.

June 21, 2015. Guadalupe Alatorre was honored as the 2014 Department of Communication Studies' Student Commencement Speaker.

April 23, 2015. Congratulations to our students for receiving the following departmental awards at the annual Communication Studies Symposium:

  • Brent Austin - Outstanding Graduate Student of the Year
  • Brent Austin - Graduate Teaching Associate of the Year
  • Jennifer Olfert - Outstanding Undergraduate Student of the Year

Concentration Awards:

  • Kaycie Wallace - Outstanding Student in Human Communication
  • Hope Butler - Outstanding Student in Media Studies
  • Jacqueline Vargas - Outstanding Student in Public Relations
  • Coyote Chronicle Award: Koby Heramil and Angel Lizardi
  • Outstanding Student in Video Production: Raymond Arias
  • Outstanding Student in Debate: Max Singer
  • Coyote Radio Fred E. Jandt Award: Alazzia Gaoay

Feb. 27, 2015. Alexander Douglas and Clarissa Toll presented their research on Recommender Systems and the Construction of User Identity to great acclaim at the CSU Research Competition. Their faculty mentor is Dr. Mihaela Popescu.

Feb. 02, 2015. Our student Debate Team is still running strong under the fantastic coaching of Professor Shawnee Biggerstaff! At the “Sleet and Snow Forensic Invitational” at Concordia University of Nebraska, the CSUSB Debate Team won two Varsity Semi-Finalist Awards for student teams Kevin Gema & Joshua O’Handley and Omar Salcedo-Garcia & Max Singer. Additionally, students Joshua O’Handley and Kevin Gema won Top Speaker awards. In fact, the eight-person CSUSB team was so successful that, based on the total points accumulated, it earned CSUSB the honor of the “Sleet and Snow Forensics Invitational Limited entry 1st place Sweepstakes” award. Congratulations to our wonderful students and their hard-working coach!

Jan. 23, 2015. Carrera Allred will present her honors paper at the WSCA Undergraduate Scholars Research Conference in February 2015 in Spokane, Washington.

Jan. 15, 2015. Coyote Chronicle Executive Editor and undergraduate student, Koby Heramil, has been accepted to attend graduate school to earn her M.A. degree at Northwestern University.

Sept. 15, 2014. M.A. student Brent Austin will attend the University of Utah Ph.D. in Communication program in fall 2015.

Sept. 15, 2014. Senior Jacqueline Vargas interned in Washington, D.C. and made the local news.